Annabel Lee

#umpoetaumpoemapordia #81 (19/1)
POEMA: ANNABEL LEE
It was many and many a year ago, / In a kingdom by the sea, / That a maiden there lived whom you may know / By the name of Annabel Lee; / And this maiden she lived with no other thought / Than to love and be loved by me. / I was a child and she was a child, / In this kingdom by the sea; / But we loved with a love that was more than love- / I and my Annabel Lee; / With a love that the winged seraphs of heaven / Coveted her and me. // And this was the reason that, long ago, / In this kingdom by the sea, / A wind blew out of a cloud, chilling / My beautiful Annabel Lee; / So that her highborn kinsman came / And bore her away from me, / To shut her up in a sepulchre / In this kingdom by the sea. // The angels, not half so happy in heaven, / Went envying her and me- / Yes!- that was the reason (as all men know, In this kingdom by the sea) / That the wind came out of the cloud by night, / Chilling and killing my Annabel Lee. // But our love it was stronger by far than the love / Of those who were older than we- / Of many far wiser than we- / And neither the angels in heaven above, / Nor the demons down under the sea, / Can ever dissever my soul from the soul / Of the beautiful Annabel Lee. // For the moon never beams without bringing me dreams / Of the beautiful Annabel Lee; / And the stars never rise but I feel the bright eyes / Of the beautiful Annabel Lee; / And so,all the night-tide, I lie down by the side / Of my darling, my darling, my life and my bride, / In the sepulchre there by the sea, / In her tomb by the sounding sea.
(Tradução: Fernando Pessoa) ANNABEL LEE
Foi há muitos e muitos anos já, / Num reino de ao pé do mar. / Como sabeis todos, vivia lá / Aquela que eu soube amar; / E vivia sem outro pensamento / Que amar-me e eu a adorar. // Eu era criança e ela era criança, / Neste reino ao pé do mar; / Mas o nosso amor era mais que amor — / O meu e o dela a amar; / Um amor que os anjos do céu vieram / a ambos nós invejar. // E foi esta a razão por que, há muitos anos, / Neste reino ao pé do mar, / Um vento saiu duma nuvem, gelando / A linda que eu soube amar; / E o seu parente fidalgo veio / De longe a me a tirar, / Para a fechar num sepulcro / Neste reino ao pé do mar. // E os anjos, menos felizes no céu, / Ainda a nos invejar… / Sim, foi essa a razão (como sabem todos, / Neste reino ao pé do mar) / Que o vento saiu da nuvem de noite / Gelando e matando a que eu soube amar. // Mas o nosso amor era mais que o amor / De muitos mais velhos a amar, / De muitos de mais meditar, / E nem os anjos do céu lá em cima, / Nem demônios debaixo do mar / Poderão separar a minha alma da alma / Da linda que eu soube amar. // Porque os luares tristonhos só me trazem sonhos / Da linda que eu soube amar; / E as estrelas nos ares só me lembram olhares / Da linda que eu soube amar; / E assim ‘stou deitado toda a noite ao lado / Do meu anjo, meu anjo, meu sonho e meu fado, / No sepulcro ao pé do mar, / Ao pé do murmúrio do mar.
POETA
Edgar Allan Poe (nascido Edgar Poe; Boston, Massachusetts, Estados Unidos, 19 de Janeiro de 1809 — Baltimore, Maryland, Estados Unidos, 7 de Outubro de 1849) foi um autor, poeta, editor e crítico literário estadunidense, integrante do movimento romântico estadunidense.
MAIS SOBRE
Deixe um comentário

